Posted in Competitions, Programming, ramblings

How Coronavirus Stole My Trip to Google HQ

On my previous post, I shared my Google Code-in experience, and the thrill of finally being chosen as one of the Grand Prize Winners for GCI 2019. Each Grand Prize Winner are granted an all-expense four-day trip to Google Headquarters in San Francisco, California USA.

Well, that was before coronavirus became a thing.

Worst than Losing

My father is always listening to news about the virus, and how it is rapidly spreading. He always told me that he’s got a feeling that my trip might be cancelled, as some major events are already getting called off (Google I/O, Facebook F8, Apple WWDC, etc.). Meanwhile, my mom and I always look at the positive side and often dismissed that thought. Postponed might be more possible, but cancelled, meh.

And that’s where I was wrong.

Almost a month after I was declared as a Grand Prize Winner, I received an email from Google saying that they have cancelled the GCI trip. You read it right, cancelled. Not even postponed. They said that they will just provide alternative prizes. It didn’t sink at me first, and went through my day as normal as possible ( even though I couldn’t focus on some of the things I was doing ) but at night time, I cried a lot. I have expected something so much, and for it to vanish, is truly upsetting. As for the alternative prizes, what could be much better than the trip?! Nothing can replace the experiences and new acquaintances that I was supposed to have. Another down fact is that Grand Prize Winners can no longer participate to win. So, I no longer have a chance for GCI 2020.

For the next 5 days, I tried to act normal during the day, trying hard not to think about my loss. I hated it when night comes, as that’s when my mind becomes idle and welcomes negative thoughts. I started regretting reading through previous winner’s blogs, as it only reminds me of the experiences I won’t have. I was so, so disappointed.

Not that I didn’t do anything else to try to get my trip back. I got in touch with my fellow GCI 2019 winners through Telegram, and we all decided to write a letter to Google, asking them to postpone the trip to whatever month or year they want, just not cancel it. Well that didn’t work either. I understand that Google is taking precautionary steps to prevent the spread of the disease, and that it’s not their fault, but that doesn’t stop me (and my fellow Grand Prize Winners) from being upset again.

Grand Prize Winners in a nutshell. Image Source: Memedroid

So much for being a Grand Prize Winner.

Acceptance and Lessons Learned

After almost a week of self-pitying for my misfortune, I came to realize that there’s no more point hoping that I will get back my trip. It’s gone. . . and whining won’t help me. Once I accepted this truth, then the moving on process takes place. I became more comfortable joking about the GCI trip, plotting ways to go to Google Headquarters for the next GCI year (though impossible). I focused on my family and upcoming exams (which wasn’t cancelled until the next week). Although I still feel sad, I know that there is nothing else I can do.

Winning the Grand Prize for Google Code-in to go to Google HQ was what I always dreamed of, ever since I heard of this competition. However (and probably because of a great reason), it was not what I had imagined. Although I didn’t get to step on Californian land, everything might turn out worse if I went there and contracted the virus. I might survive, but the contagious nature of the virus is just too much to risk.

The cancellation of my trip also made me realize that I’ve focused too much on my own plans. I didn’t take the virus and what’s happening around me seriously, as I thought it won’t affect me. I focused more on myself, and my trip. Now that it’s gone, my mind is now open to reality. A lot of people are suffering, whether because they lost their jobs, contracted the virus, or are dying. To continue thinking about what I lost is almost like an insult to those people who lost a lot of things because of this virus. In fact, I haven’t lost everything. I still have alternative prizes, and although it will never replace the trip, it’s better than nothing.

One more thing I learned from this experience is that, no matter how much you dream, hope, prayed and work hard for something you really, really wanted, in the end, it’s always God who has the final say in everything. I have prayed, each night to Him and specifically asked Him to grant me this opportunity. He did answer my prayer, just in a way that I never imagined. I may not know the reason why this has to happen, but I trust that He’s got better plans for me, and that the best is yet to come.

See you in another time, perhaps? Image source: Swim Creative

4 thoughts on “How Coronavirus Stole My Trip to Google HQ

  1. Hi Andrea,

    Having declared as a winner is already a great journey. Having stripped off with the opportunity to set your foot to google HQ will serve as your will power to do better and reap back the rewards. That is another goal to look forward to. Time will come that the chances will be on your way. U just needed patience and perseverance to attain this much higher opportunity in your life. Perhaps becoming part of them. Your journey never ends to this trip… opportunity never knocks once..it is always there. Just have faith and keep your focus. Everything will be alright. Things happen for a purpose. Hearthbreaks are the first step to success. In time, you will reach the pinnacle of success-just remember that you have attain it by embracing the heathaches of experience.

    With Love,
    Tita Amaeli

    Like

Leave a comment